Aboriginal Education in the Nicola-Similkameen Valleys

  • Merritt Central" Spirit lifters" Hand Drum Group with their teacher Dan Manuel. Drumming for a Nlekepmx elders Meeting at Shacken.

School District #58 (Nicola-Similkameen) is proud to serve students from our six local Bands, the Metis Nation and from Aboriginal communities outside of our district.  A rich cultural component is provided by, approximately 40% of our students who report Aboriginal ancestry. The Coldwater Band, Lower Nicola Band, Nooaitch Band, Shackan Band, Upper Nicola Band, Upper Similkameen Band, the Metis and School District #58 are mutually committed to the goal of personal success and the best education possible for all First Nations Students.  Improving in the area of Aboriginal Education is a focus of our present work in the Nicola-Similkameen and we are committed to listening and working collaboratively with the First Nations community to do so.

First Nations Educational Contacts

Shelley Oppenheim-Lacerte
Martha Aspinall
Kelly Lacerte
Cheryl Rule
Martha Chillihitzia
Greta Brown
Christine Anderson
Mary-June Coutlee
Keith Jager
Crystal McMaster
Sharon Antoine
Yvonne Joe
Hank Yamelst
Tim Manuel
Renee Hartwell
Barb Parker

District Principal of Aboriginal Education
nłeʔkepmxcin Language Teacher
nłeʔkepmxcin Language Teacher
FNSW - Collettville, Bench
FNSW - Merritt Central
FNSW – Merritt Central
FNSW – Aboriginal Academy & KLC
FNSW – Nicola-Canford
FNSW - Diamond Vale
FNSW - Cultural Resource Teacher
FNSW - PSS & The Bridge
FNSW - John Allison, Vermilion Forks

Aboriginal Advisory Council


Mandy Jimmie
Charlene McRae
Lynne Charlton
Krisalena Antoine
Kathy Jumbo
Barb Douglas
Sharon McIvor
Charlotte Mitchell
Burt Bergmann
Bruce Bidney
Stephen McNiven
Kevin Black
Gordon Comeau


Shackan Band
Upper Nicola Band
Lower Nicola Band
Coldwater Band
Nooaitch Band
Metis Rep
Conayt Friendship Society
Upper Similkameen Band
Principal, Nicola-Canford Elementary
Principal, Merritt Secondary
SD No. 58 Superintendent
SD No. 58 Secretary Treasurer
School District No. 58 Trustee (Chairman)